{sigh}

News on the baseball front has been pretty sparse. Mostly, things are just disappointing. The Rookie of the Year was announced yesterday, and Elvis Andrus didn’t win. He came in 2nd place. Some relief pitcher with Oakland won instead. I think they should do a separate ROY for pitchers. I mean, pitchers already have the Cy Young award. Come on people!

They also announced the Gold Glove winners last week, and no Rangers won. Big surprise. The Rangers generally tend to get the shaft when it comes to league awards. Nobody pays attention to us. It’s all about the Yankees and the Angels and the Red Sox and everybody else. Seriously, there aren’t many baseball teams that are as under-the-radar as the Rangers. And that sucks. Is it because we haven’t been to a World Series? Or because all of the sheep that live here are obsessed with football and the idiotic Cowboys? I don’t know.

In other disappointing news, remember how I posted a couple of weeks ago that Jon Daniels said that Omar Vizquel might be the only Ranger free agent to re-sign before the end of the exclusive 2-week talking period? That was crap. Omar has since said that he wants to go to a higher-profile team. Thanks a lot, Omar.

The Rangers are having their Annual Mid-Winter Awards Banquet on January 29th, and you know I would LOVE to go, but tickets are $60 per person.

Like I said, not a lot to talk about. Thanksgiving is next week, and I’m going to another hockey game on Monday. Woo-hoo! I miss baseball SOOOO MUCH, but hockey is a decent distraction every now & then. Believe me, I’ll be sure to post it if I hear any news.

Originally published November 17, 2009 

Leave a comment