Now THAT’S what I’m talking about!!

Last night’s victory came after a very short losing streak for the Rangers – only 2 games – but I still breathed a huge sigh of relief. Those first 2 games that the Rangers played against the Tigers were just BAD!!

Let me back up a little bit. Before the Rangers started this short 3-game home stand against the Tigers, they had finished their road trip against Tampa Bay and the Cleveland with a 6-1 record.

No, that’s not a typo. I said 6-1. On the road. Flippin’ awesome!

And that 6-1 record included a 4-game sweep of the Cleveland Indians, who have the best home record in all of baseball. Not too shabby.

But then the Rangers proceeded to come home and play like a Little League team against the Tigers in game 1 of the series. The final score was 13-7, so at least the Rangers got 7 runs. But it was still just a hard game to watch.

My dad and I had tickets to game 2, so I was really hoping the Rangers could turn it around on Tuesday night. Plus, they had fireworks scheduled for after the game, which never happens for a weekday game. It had to be a good omen, right?

Wrong.

I thought Monday’s game was hard to watch, but Tuesday’s game was just a never-ending slaughter. And it took absolutely FOR-EV-ER!!

It ended up that I wasn’t able to work it out to go in to work late on Wednesday morning, so I finally had to leave the stadium at 10:00, and they hadn’t even started the 9th inning yet!

Plus that hard seat had really done a number on my backside, and the 5 healed fractures in my pelvis and tailbone were screaming at me. I was hurting pretty bad. Seriously, I’m still sore 2 days later.

Anyway, I ended up missing the fireworks, which I was REALLY looking forward to. And my team got pummeled, and I was in pain, which made me pretty cranky.

I knew that Alexi Ogando was going to pitch last night, so I was cautiously optimistic.  But I still didn’t know what to expect.

When I turned on the game last night, we were still in the top of the first inning, but the Tigers were already leading 1-0. Uh-oh. No bueno.

On a side note, I was also surprised to hear last night that the Rangers suddenly decided to fire their new hitting coach Thad Bosley. Tom and Dave kept talking about what a great guy he is, but a team doesn’t decide to just fire someone in the middle of the season for no reason.

There’s something fishy going on, but I’m proud of the Rangers for not airing all their dirty laundry. Of course I’m curious about what happened, but it really isn’t anybody’s business.

They decided to bring up Scott Coolbaugh (the hitting coach for the Rangers’ AAA affiliate) to become the Rangers’ hitting coach. Tom & Dave kept pointing out that “there’s no ‘interim’ in front of his title. This is now Scott’s job.”

Okay, fine. Back to the game.

Although the Rangers were down 1-0 through the 2nd inning, they were able to get 4 runs in the bottom of the 3rd inning. And they kept adding on runs until finally, we were leading 7-1.

Then Darren Oliver put 2 guys on base in the top of the ninth, so Wash called in Feliz. And Feliz doesn’t do well coming into an inning with men on base, so they both scored.

But that was it. We still won the game 7-3! Woohoo!!

Alexi Ogando still does not have a loss this season, and he’s 7-0 with a few no-decisions!

Oh, speaking of Alexi Ogando, I have a funny story. Well, at least I thought it was funny. If you want to quit reading here, I’ll totally understand.

The last time my dad and I went to a game together (before this past Tuesday, of course), it was against the Chicago White Sox and Alexi Ogando was on the mound.

When Alexei Ramirez came up to bat, I said to my dad, “Oh, hey, it’s Alexei versus Alexi!” I made sure to accentuate the “ayy” sound in Alexei and the “ee” sound in Alexi.

“Let me guess, ” Dad said. “Are they spelled the same but just pronounced differently?”

“No,” I said. “Alexi Ogando’s name is spelled just with an i, and Alexei Ramirez is spelled with an e i.”

We both waited a beat, then at the exact same time we sang “E I E I OOOOO.”

It was hilarious! But maybe it’s one of those things that doesn’t translate into print. You had to be there. Anyway, it was awesome, trust me. 🙂

The next game I’m going to will be Monday, June 20 against the Houston Astros. That also happens to be Nelson Cruz bobblehead night! Yay!!! 

Overall Rangers’ record: 35-28

My Rangers’ record: 6-2

Days ’til my next game: 11

Leave a Reply

